Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.


Department of Behavioral Health

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Department of Mental Health Announces Moratorium on Certifying New Mental Health Providers

Thursday, September 13, 2012
Thirty-seven community-based providers now deliver mental health care.

The Department of Mental Health announces a moratorium on certification of new providers of mental health services in the District’s public mental health system.  The Department offers a wide range of prevention and treatment services for children and adults in community based clinics across the District.  Mobile emergency crisis teams also provide on-site treatment for adults and children experiencing a psychiatric or emotional crisis.

Through a rigorous review process, the Department since 2002 has certified 37 mental health providers who serve more than 21,000 eligible residents. The majority of enrollees are Medicaid or Medicare recipients. To maintain high quality care and easy access throughout the system, the Mental Health Department will evaluate whether the current number of providers and clinic locations maximize utilization and whether services are delivered in the most efficient way.

“Residents will continue to have access to services and a large number of providers to choose from in the public mental health system,” said Stephen T. Baron, Director of the Department of Mental Health. “The moratorium will not affect current enrollees or providers already certified.”

The notice of the moratorium can be found in the DC Register at

If you have additional questions, please call the Department of Mental Health Office of Accountability at (202) 673-2292. 

To access mental health services, a District resident can call the Access Helpline at 1-888-793-4357 to talk to a mental health counselor or contact a provider directly from the list of certified providers.